Sudden rust issue in between coats of seasoning

Charlie B

I am very new to cast iron and refinishing (or attempting to). I have looked online and read a lot on this, many of the good advice was directly from this website.

I have done only 9 skillets with 7 still in the process of seasoning and 1 was a do over because I did not like the way it looked after 3 coats of seasoning. I thought all was going well until this morning when I had 6 skillets in the oven at 200F all of them with various coats of seasoning. After 20 minutes I took them out one at a time and applied another thin coat of grapeseed oil. This is when I noticed that a few of the skillets actually appeared to have a bit of rust that transferred to the blue shop towel that I was wiping the oil on with. It was not visible as the seasoning coatings are chestnut in color. One of these pans was on coat #7 and up to this point, I had not had this issue. One of the pans was on coat #2 and one on coat #5. All done with grapeseed oil.

I have looked all over online to see if I can find a reason for the sudden appearance of rust after this many coats but I am finding nothing. I hope to find an answer before going any further in case I need to start over. I would be very disappointed to try to cook in one of these skillets only to have rust.

I will describe my process and hopefully someone can find error with it or have an idea of what I did wrong this far along.

I am using an electrolysis tank to get the rust and crud off of these pans. I then take them inside and scrub any remaining spots and overall with very fine 0000 steel wool then use a green scrub sponge and dish soap and water to give them a final cleaning.

My fear is and was flash rust. Being new at this I did not want to have this happen so I tried to move fairly quick when removing from the E tank.