Cast Iron Collector Forums  
Google

Go Back   Cast Iron Collector Forums > General Discussion > Cast Iron Cleaning and Seasoning

Notices

Cast Iron Cleaning and Seasoning Help With and Tips & Techniques For Cast Iron Cookware Restoration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-14-2015, 04:20 PM
JMoss JMoss is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kemah,TX
Posts: 854
Default Re: Graphite as Sacrificial Anode - cut to size

Thanks Doug. This turned out to be much to do about nothing. This plate is soft, I cut it in half with a hacksaw blade and it took only a few minutes.

The electro tank loves it. In just minutes it had a white froth on top that looks like fresh snow.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 03-14-2015, 04:44 PM
Doug D. Doug D. is offline
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5,762
Default Re: Graphite as Sacrificial Anode

I almost wonder if you couldn't just score it like tile and snap it.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-14-2015, 04:46 PM
JMoss JMoss is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kemah,TX
Posts: 854
Default Re: Graphite as Sacrificial Anode

I thought about that, and read about doing that on thinner plates, but I ruined a lot of ceramic tile trying to figure out how to do that. I can't afford very many practice sessions on the graphite plates.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-05-2015, 03:45 PM
J.Ottinger J.Ottinger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Indianapolis, In
Posts: 45
Default Re: Graphite as Sacrificial Anode

I'm a carpenter and we cut aluminum with carbide tipped saw blades. I wouldn't be afraid to try cutting it.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-05-2015, 04:00 PM
JMoss JMoss is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kemah,TX
Posts: 854
Default Re: Graphite as Sacrificial Anode

J Ottinger
There is no doubt a power saw could cut it. However that would be very much like driving a tack with a sledge hammer. It will get the job done but the side effects could be bad.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-10-2015, 02:38 PM
EarlM EarlM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
Default Re: Graphite as Sacrificial Anode

I can say for certain the graphite plate has helped. My E tank has a ton more bubbles and clean time has been cut down greatly. Even with the cleanest of steel plates, I never had this many bubbles! Also, the water stays much cleaner.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-21-2015, 09:41 AM
TedW TedW is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 175
Default Re: Graphite as Sacrificial Anode

Just bought the plates myself. I'm looking at battery chargers now.

http://www.amazon.com/Schumacher-SE-...=10+amp+manual

This Charger look OK?

[SIZE=1]---------- Post added at 10:41 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:10 AM ----------[/SIZE]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=at8U6AAoqLA

I wound up buying 4 graphite plates and am building this unit: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=at8U6AAoqLA

Last edited by TedW; 04-21-2015 at 09:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-21-2015, 10:07 AM
DougH DougH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 293
Default Re: Graphite as Sacrificial Anode

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedW View Post
http://www.amazon.com/Schumacher-SE-...=10+amp+manual

This Charger look OK?[COLOR="Silver"]
That should be fine. To my knowledge, just about any manual charger will do the job.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-21-2015, 10:22 AM
TedW TedW is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 175
Default Re: Graphite as Sacrificial Anode

Thanks Doug.

I picked up this one.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The other had a sensor that dropped Amperage to 4A. The above unit doesn't seem to have this, so I could run at 10A
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-21-2015, 10:33 AM
DougH DougH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 293
Default Re: Graphite as Sacrificial Anode

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedW View Post
Thanks Doug.

I picked up this one.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The other had a sensor that dropped Amperage to 4A. The above unit doesn't seem to have this, so I could run at 10A
That's the exact one I bought myself, but I haven't had time to put it all together yet and try it out. I think it's overkill for an e-tank only, but I liked the engine start feature as something I might use on occasion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Advertisement

This site is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn
advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com or its affiliates.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.