Where are all the larger pans?

John E

I have only been collecting for about four months now. Maybe I just need to be more patient, but I'm having a hard time finding pieces in larger sizes. I've only seen two pans #10 or greater, and they were ridiculously overpriced. Number 6 through 9 I'm seeing with only a bit more regularity. Almost everything I come across is #3-#5, and I'm pretty sure I've seen more #3 BSRs than all other pans combined. Maybe that's the curse of being in the south :).

Is this typical? Or am I just unlucky?

I met up with a local picker today and took everything he had (that's kind of the deal I made). One was a BSR Red Mountain Series #14 regular skillet.

John, i just started playing with the skillets...3 and 5's seem to be abundant. I found a little "junk" store last week in alabama and bought 12 pcs including several 9 and 10's, and some lids
i am finding that looking in "out of the way" places can yield some goodies.

I passed on a BSR #14 skillet recently b/c it had been so aggressively ground at the gates one of the pour spouts was pointed. Would have been a good user, but I figured I could just use two #8s as well. And I do have plenty of #8s. Above a few Lodge and BSR #10s, I have only found (at a reasonable price) a Martin #12 (heavy) and a Favorite Piqua Ware #12 (old, Erie-like pattern, smiley with ghost of the block TM, lighter than most other #8s).

Almost everything I come across is #3-#5, and I'm pretty sure I've seen more #3 BSRs than all other pans combined. Maybe that's the curse of being in the south :).

Is this typical? Or am I just unlucky?