First steak sear attempt

JeffreyL

I'm a newbie to CI and watched a few videos on searing steaks in a CI pan and decided to give it a shot. The steak tasted ok and was edible, but I don't think I got it "seared". I have an electric coil stove, and using a #8 pan. I gradually heated pan from low to med-low to med, to just a smidge above med then back to med to cook. A drop of water on the pan danced and sizzled so I figured I was good. Put about a tablespoon or two of veg oil in the pan and put in the salt and peppered strip sirloin. It sizzled real good, steak was about 3/4 - 1" thick. I flipped it after about 2 minutes, second side cooked about 2-3 minutes, put some butter in the pan and basted steak, removed to rest and spooned some butter from pan over steak. It ended up medium, tasted ok, I think part of it was the cut of meat, but I don't think I got it "seared". I've read so much about electric coil stoves warping pans and no need to cook anything over medium heat, I get nervous going higher and so I think I was hot enough.