First restoration done and questions for next

MichaelA

Just finished restoring and seasoning my first CI pan. I've been using a Lodge flawlessly for several years that is straight out of the store (unseasoned by myself other than cooking). I recently found what I believe to be 1930's Griswold and a Wagner in my house though, and began researching heavily. I stripped and seasoned the Wagner as it was the less valuable pan, and it came out perfect with a 6 coat glassy Crisco baked surface.

Before & After
Image Image
Image Image

I want to do the Griswold by the book, but had a question before I start. Can I save the near 30 year seasoning on the inside or am I better off stripping? The pan is black as night but has heavy buildup and white markings on the outside and bottom. I have lye on the way as we speak but wasn't sure if the stories of ultimate flavor coming from old seasoning.

I also have a question about lye baths. Is a 5% vinegar bath adequate for neutralizing a pan after the lye?

I have soybean oil on the way as well. I'm going to try that instead of Crisco as I found that it has the highest iodine value which I've read is linked to bonding sites and hardness during polymerization.

Thanks in advance
Michael

The Wagner looks great, nice work :icon_thumbsup:

For the Griswold, I wouldn't worry too much about keeping the old seasoning. After you clean it up and use it for a few months, it'll be good to go. The only reason I would avoid cleaning it is if there is sentimental value in the seasoning. For example, my dad has my grandmother's jet black set of Favorite skillets. Presumably some day they will come to me, and I wouldn't dream of taking the seasoning off of those.

A good seasoning provides a near non-stick surface but the misconception that it provides flavor is just that. Or a seller trying to justify why a cruddy pan should cost more than a clean one.