E-tank question

MichelleBernard

I've been doing the oven cleaner method of cleaning my found cast iron, and am seriously considering building an e-tank. I am a total noob when it comes to this.
I can get my hands on the manual battery charger, but am at a loss when it comes to the metal to put into the tank to attach the cables to. Do you have a suggestion as to where I could pick up some? Just hit Lowe's or what? What kind would be the best to use?

Must be ferrous, either iron or steel. Cheapest would be short lengths of rebar available at Lowe's, et al. Not the most efficient in terms of surface area, though, and require frequent wire brushing to reinvigorate.

Must be ferrous, either iron or steel. Cheapest would be short lengths of rebar available at Lowe's, et al. Not the most efficient in terms of surface area, though, and require frequent wire brushing to reinvigorate.

Doug,

I'm leaning toward an etank as well, given past comments, and new experiences.:glutton:

What part isn't "the most efficient in terms of surface area, though, and require frequent wire brushing to reinvigorate", as you said above? I mean, what part of this are you talking about?

I've never had to polish my 2 rods of rebar after starting on a pan as long as they were shiny before going in the e-tank. I may tap them against the side of the bucket from time to time to knock off the powdery rust on the surface but they always manage to pull the full 6A from my 12V charger regardless. I usually take them to the bench grinder with a wire wheel prior to setting up the e-tank but if it's just a little surface rust a few strokes with 100 grit sandpaper also gets the job done. I've never done anything bigger than a #8 skillet in the tank so your mileage may vary.