Dutch Ovens - Do you season the wire handle?

RustyP

Hey guys,

I'm new to the forum and to cast iron in general (I'm a college student and these are my first cookware items ever!). My first two restorations were a great success. I'm amazed at how easily sticky foods come off.

Now I'm working on my first dutch oven. I'll be posting an ID request later, but first I have a question about seasoning.

Do you need to season the wire handle, or can it be kept shiny silver? I think it would contrast nicely with the black oven.

Beautiful DO!! No, you don't need to season the bail. With use and time, it'll end up seasoned anyway.

I usually just clean the bail up with steel wool and then wipe it once with seasoning oil to rust-proof it.

Thanks for the tips. I figured I may as well season everything, so I coated the handle too.

Did the first coat today. Decided to skip electrolysis which apparently was a mistake, since the insides picked up a red tint. Guess I'll have to strip and start over. I'll post a pic of the problem later

(Edit- Actually, you can see how the top half of the inside wall is a different color even before seasoning. My fault for being lazy/overexcited)

Here's a shot of the outside for now. It's not really gray, just overexposed by my cell phone.

That's a nice lid, Rusty. Any idea who made it? I have a skillet in the lye bath with those same lines and have been searching for a maker for months. The only hint I have is from another member here that thinks it might be Renfrow ... but my research into Renfrow has turned up not a single piece with these lines.

Thanks, Ken. I originally passed it up when I saw it, but thankfully it was still there when I went back to the store a couple weeks later.

I think it is a Renfrow. I found a few examples last night of the lid with matching criss cross bottom. My bottom appears to be the exact same shape, but with hammered finish instead of criss cross.

I'll post links for you later tonight.