Thanks for All the Info

BillC

You guys and this forum are great!
I'm new to this cast iron thing. Seems kind of addicting! I was just looking for good cookware and came across some old pans.
Through what I've learned on this site, I've been able to clean and resurrect the old cast items I've found to a like new condition.
Let's just say I lye. Then e-tank. Less than $40 in parts (I got new containers, without that cost, less than $10). Presto, very clean CI with minimal scrubbing. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
I guess since it soaks in a lye tank, I don't get the sludge or slime film on top of my etank electrolyte? Just lots of rust on the rebar.
Is there an easy way to clean the rebar, besides the basic wire brush? Or do I just move on to SS anodes?
Again, you guys are awesome!!!
This is a fantastic site to get the needed info on all of my questions regarding cast iron!
Now...on to the recipes!!!

Hi Bill,

Yes, just move onto stainless steel, you will be much happier! It certainly is the best way to go.

If you're like me and don't want to spend money on e-tank parts, go to your local mom and pop lawn & garden shop and ask if they have any old lawnmower blades they'd be willing to part with. The place I went to gave me a dozen blades for free. Not as good as stainless, but way better than rebar.

If you're like me and don't want to spend money on e-tank parts, go to your local mom and pop lawn & garden shop and ask if they have any old lawnmower blades they'd be willing to part with. The place I went to gave me a dozen blades for free. Not as good as stainless, but way better than rebar.

I can confirm this will work, I own a lawn and garden dealership, we have all the free used blades you could haul away!
My etank plates are actually 4 of the old metal lawn mower discharge chutes

If you have a scrap yard anywhere nearby, you should be able to find some s.s. at scrap prices.