Lodge Arc Logo #12

LSandage

I've been collecting CI for a couple years. I recently aquired an arc logo Lodge #12 Skillet. What gets me is I can't find any info about this skillet online. I've posted it on a FB CI group. I'm told it's a rare skillet. Anyone have any insight on how rare or what the value might be?

Id like to see a pic of it....in my mind anything over a #10 is semi rare, but a Lodge , Im not sure.

The notion of rarity is probably more based on the fact that it's a marked Lodge than it being a #12. Prior to 1987, they only marked skillets (using the arc logo) between ~ 1910 and 1930. No recents on eBay to compare for value.

I've been told by a couple collectors that there are less then 20 of these skillets known to exist. And because I can't find photos or any historical listing of this Skillet being sold I tend to believe what I'm being told.
???

#12 skillets appear in Lodge catalog listings going back to the early 1900s. That they made so few (arc logo) that only a couple dozen survive would seem implausible.

I've been going to the Dinkys cast iron auctions for 5-6 years now... they are one of the few auction houses that do whole collections or even an exclusively cast iron auction... and they've been doing two or three auctions per year for the past several years... usually 2 or sometimes 3 day auctions doing 500 - 600 pieces per day... and I've never seen an arc lodge 12. and these sales usually have some rare and unusual pieces... 3 spout griswold 9, a griswold #1, 5-6 erie spider pans, #13 dutch ovens... so what I'm trying to say is I've been around and I've seen some iron... and I've never seen an arc lodge 12. (I have 3-10 except for 6 and 7, which have been elusive)... and I've had some offers on my arc 10 because its one of the few with the raised size on top of the handle rather than the more common size on the bottom. so yeah. I'd say your 12 is very hard to find.