New at This, a Couple Questions!

M Rubio

Hey there! I’m new to cast iron, I found a pan at a swap meet and wanted to try restoring it to use for cooking. I gave it a vinegar bath and started scrubbing, made some good progress but I discovered a couple red flags.
First is that the back looks red, and I don’t know if it’s rust or fire damage. I scrubbed it a lot with a stainless steel scrubbed so I’m thinking I got a lot of the rust off. The other issue is a little put on the cooking surface, is this something that is problematic for cooking? Is it a lost cause?
Any help is greatly appreciated! I have some photos below of the issues
trying to post photos, can't figure out how to post photos that aren't huge

---------- Post added at 10:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:08 PM ----------

Here are some photos
Image Image

Last edited:
Inside is ok so outside has to be rust,let it soak 30 minutes on a bucket with 50-50 water vinegar,and then scrub it and repeat as needed,abouth cooking surface don't worry those little spots will fill up with carbon while you cooking on it,and welcome to the forum.

Inside is ok so outside has to be rust,let it soak 30 minutes on a bucket with 50-50 water vinegar,and then scrub it and repeat as needed,abouth cooking surface don't worry those little spots will fill up with carbon while you cooking on it,and welcome to the forum.

thanks for the reply! the photo above is after 2 rounds of vinegar soak and and scrubbing, how many rounds does it normally take to get the pan free of rust?

Hey M Rubio, that is a nice post 1960 unmarked Wagner you have there. It will turn out to be great to use,

I'm wondering if what you have is "flash" rusting that is taken care of during initial seasoning? From the "Cast Iron Seasoning" of this site...