Sad Iron Collecting

SeanD

I was just wondering if anyone else collects them, and trivets? Im new to Sad Irons, but Im liking it. I have one for now, going to keep my eye out for more. Any thoughts?

There are definitely collectors of both. I have sold several trivets to collectors on Facebook groups. From my experience, sad irons don't have a lot of value, in general. I'm sure there are some valuable ones, just like any other collectible.

I just thought Id collect Wapak sad iron, as I love all Wapaks. I have NO rational reasoning other than I like the defects.......If that makes sense? Every one is unique!

I have three sad irons. I picked a couple up less than $5 at thrift shops and I got one from a friend in a bundle deal. I also have a small kerosene operated sad iron heater. It has a wick like a modern kerosene heater. They aren’t very valuable because every house had at least two. One would be heating up while you used the other one. I see several at every antique shop. I also have a couple of oval shaped cast iron pans that are listed as Sad Iron pans but mine has pour spouts so I call them long griddles. But I can’t confirm what they were sold as.

Thanks for the info....I currently have 3 also....2 unknow ones and a Wapak. Im going to try to get a set of them....I think they go from #2 to #8?

As a side question, is there an actual name for this sad iron, or do you call it a Sad Iron? It has a removable wood handle . Thank you.

Attachments

• Sad Iron.jpg
    Sad Iron.jpg
    69.1 KB · Views: 21
I started collecting some different styles of them. But, I don’t know if I want to expand the collection. I’m kind of satisfied having some of each variety. I have the traditional type, gas powered and charcoal powered. I think they’re pretty cool. I want to use them… but not on my clothes lol.

Attachments

• 6E28443C-829E-4E3F-81DF-83329FD401A1.jpg
    6E28443C-829E-4E3F-81DF-83329FD401A1.jpg
    25.6 KB · Views: 13