Is It?

LloydR

Hi everyone,

I am old to CI but new to "collecting". I enjoy IDing stuff but, as you will see, I am a newbie.

I saw this skillet on the fleabay which was advertised as unmarked. The second or third picture showed this.

AfDUAwk.jpg

To my novice eyes, that logo wasn't convincing as I noticed the seller is well seasoned cast iron seller. So in fact it was a cause of doubt more than anything else.

Next I see the skillet number engraved on the top of the handle

Kx2Thms.jpg

Here again the seller was either not paying attention or I am missing something because it was advertised as a #8 and the kind of see 9 there. The font style doesn't look the same than what I see on Griswold pics. But maybe I am fishing here.

Now, the grooved handle was what caught my attention. I am sure that pictures on the web are limited, but all grooved handles I see are paired with larger logos or a small logo accompanied by additional engraving which I don't see on the bottom of the skillet. But maybe its been hidden by the junk. Also, the top of that handle didn't look to my eyes like what I see, again, on the pictures I find on the web. Don't know how to describe what I see.

With all this (mis)information in my mind I thought: if I was to imitate a skillet I probably wouldn't put so much effort in making a grooved handle. I rather keep it simple. After all, we catch most forgers because/when they cut corners.

So, I read too much into it didn't I? I always do.

Thanks in advance.

CPIVpES.jpg

note: No, I did get it. But I put a bid :)

Last edited: