Cast Iron Collector Forums  
Google

Go Back   Cast Iron Collector Forums > General Discussion > Cast Iron Cleaning and Seasoning

Notices

Cast Iron Cleaning and Seasoning Help With and Tips & Techniques For Cast Iron Cookware Restoration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2015, 12:17 PM
JeffProper JeffProper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 17
Default Question: Setting Up Electrolysis Tank

Have read all the info and think I've got a handle on how to set up electrolysis. However, one question I've not seen addressed. How may AMPs should I be using? Or is it just a matter of 12 amps less time; 2 amps more time??
Thanks,
Jeff
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-19-2015, 12:30 PM
Doug D. Doug D. is offline
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,188
Default Re: Question: Setting Up Electrolysis Tank

The lower amp setting will work, the higher amp setting should work faster. Excessive amperage (like 40) can just be overkill, creating more heat than efficiency.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2015, 12:53 PM
Jeffrey R. Jeffrey R. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NEK, Vermont
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: Question: Setting Up Electrolysis Tank

One thing to remember. Make sure that you have good electrical contacts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2015, 12:56 PM
JeffProper JeffProper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 17
Default Re: Question: Setting Up Electrolysis Tank

Okay - that's this weekend's project. Thanks for the quick responses.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2015, 03:34 PM
Glenn Brown Glenn Brown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: S.E. Texas
Posts: 65
Default Re: Question: Setting Up Electrolysis Tank

I got a 20 gallon Rubbermaid Roughneck for mine and while in the hardware store got 1 foot of 5 gauge ground wire for 99 cents. They also had a manual charger for 39.95. I filled the can up near the top and added about 2 cups of washing soda. Used an old piece of broomstick and cut the copper wire into 2 pieces. Wrapped it around the broomstick, making a hook in each end. Had to readjust the wrap on the broomstick to get the hook just under the surface of the water. When you hang a piece of CI on one of the hooks, take a nail and rub the handle loop really well so it will make good contact. I left the top of the wire sticking straight up above the broomstick to attach the clamps to. I run my charger at 12 v--2amps. Works fine for me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2015, 04:35 PM
Stan D Stan D is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: McLean VA
Posts: 108
Default Re: Question: Setting Up Electrolysis Tank

Glenn reminds me of a good point. Electrolysis will not work with many of today's automatic or "smart"chargers. They rely on sensing that it's hooked to a battery before it will send current down the wire, and since an electrolysis tank isn't a battery, the charger will not work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2015, 04:41 PM
Doug D. Doug D. is offline
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,188
Default Re: Question: Setting Up Electrolysis Tank

More on using electrolysis: http://www.castironcollector.com/electrolysis.php
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-23-2015, 02:19 PM
Steve D Steve D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 6
Default Re: Question: Setting Up Electrolysis Tank

When setting up Electrolysis, is it best to use tap water or distilled?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-23-2015, 02:37 PM
Doug D. Doug D. is offline
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,188
Default Re: Question: Setting Up Electrolysis Tank

It doesn't matter. In other words, don't waste money on other than tap water.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2015, 08:05 PM
JMoss JMoss is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kemah,TX
Posts: 855
Default Re: Question: Setting Up Electrolysis Tank

Steve D
Absolutely pristine distilled water is not a conductor, it needs impurities. Doug is absolutely correct, don't waste money on distilled water, you need "impurities" to conduct the electrical current.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Advertisement

- Website Directory -

This site is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn
advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com or its affiliates.
This page contains ads and links that earn commissions for CIC.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.