Cast Iron Collector Forums  
Google

Go Back   Cast Iron Collector Forums > General Discussion > Cast Iron Cleaning and Seasoning

Notices

Cast Iron Cleaning and Seasoning Help With and Tips & Techniques For Cast Iron Cookware Restoration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2020, 06:34 PM
Jay Reiter Jay Reiter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 70
Default Electrolysis Tank Upkeep

I do not think I am getting down to the parent metal. On the Morter after 20 hours at 4 amps the red rust is gone but the surface is rough and dark brown. I believe that color is the chemical change in the iron oxide.
What is the proper way to maintain the anodes? Do you skim the sludge off the top of the solution. I have removed the anodes to dry and will wire brush them.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-05-2020, 05:30 AM
Greg Brunett Greg Brunett is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 166
Default Re: Electrolysis Tank Upkeep

I regularly remove my anodes and 1. scrape them with a putty knife to remove the big stuff. 2. let them dry 3. either sand them with the air sander or sand blast them depending on how much stuff is in the way of the equipment. They have to be cleaned regularly for optimum efficiency. Keep in mind that electrolysis works best as a line of sight cleaning method. You may have to rotate the piece you are cleaning every now and then.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2020, 03:07 PM
Jay Reiter Jay Reiter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 70
Default Re: Electrolysis Tank Upkeep

Thanks Gregg. What do you do with the electrolyte solution? The floating rust has gone to the bottom wile the anodes were being cleaned. I put the morter back and the current went to 6 amps and is settling back to 5 amps. The solution still feels soapy.

[SIZE=1]---------- Post added at 03:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:18 PM ----------[/SIZE]

The current has cut back to 4 amps again. I am using 2 pieces of angle iron and 2 pieces of 1/2 inch rod as anodes. The activity around the angle irons is much greater. As my current is 4 amps no matter what I am de-rusting the surface area of the anodes must set the current limit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-2020, 08:08 PM
Jody M Jody M is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Electrolysis Tank Upkeep

Jay, surface area of the anodes, surface area of the piece being cleaned, closeness of the anode to the piece are all variables that affect the process. I use 12" X 12" plates of graphite as my anodes. I never have to take them out for cleaning. I put one on opposite sides of my tank, connected by a little "jumper" cable. I have them hanging from a rod that allows me to slide them close to both sides of the part being cleaned. I can usually clean 40-50 pieces before plates deteriorate to the point of needing replaced.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2020, 10:49 PM
Alex A Alex A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 38
Default Re: Electrolysis Tank Upkeep

Jody, can you please post a link for the graphite plates you use? Everything I see online is either very small or very expensive. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-2020, 07:44 PM
Jody M Jody M is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Electrolysis Tank Upkeep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex A View Post
Jody, can you please post a link for the graphite plates you use? Everything I see online is either very small or very expensive. Thanks!
Alex, I am fortunate enough to be able to get my graphite plates from work. They are used in our EDM department, and when they are out of spec, they are discarded. I got permission from my supervisor to take what I need.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-11-2020, 04:13 AM
Greg Brunett Greg Brunett is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 166
Default Re: Electrolysis Tank Upkeep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Reiter View Post
Thanks Gregg. What do you do with the electrolyte solution? The floating rust has gone to the bottom wile the anodes were being cleaned. I put the morter back and the current went to 6 amps and is settling back to 5 amps. The solution still feels soapy.

[SIZE=1]---------- Post added at 03:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:18 PM ----------[/SIZE]

The current has cut back to 4 amps again. I am using 2 pieces of angle iron and 2 pieces of 1/2 inch rod as anodes. The activity around the angle irons is much greater. As my current is 4 amps no matter what I am de-rusting the surface area of the anodes must set the current limit.

My tank sits un-covered on the garage floor. I top it off with fresh water if it evaporates. not worried about the dog or kids getting into it. Dog tried it once and the kids are old enough to know better. Lye tank is a different story. My current starts out strong, then nose dives as the anodes get dirty. I have found that after a soak in the lye tank, some of the heavier rust gets wiped off when when I am washing the lye off with soap and a green scrubbie pad. Takes a few hours in the e tank vs a couple days.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-2020, 07:29 PM
Jay Reiter Jay Reiter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 70
Default Re: Electrolysis Tank Upkeep

Thank you Greg good information. I have the lye crystals but have not started a lye tank.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-11-2020, 07:35 PM
Greg Brunett Greg Brunett is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 166
Default Re: Electrolysis Tank Upkeep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Reiter View Post
Thank you Greg good information. I have the lye crystals but have not started a lye tank.
1 Lb lye to 5 gallons of water. I used 8 gallons of solution in a 13 gallon trash can. It can hold about 5 pieces at a time I currently have a #8 Dutch oven, lid, #8 skillet, and lid in it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-20-2020, 10:01 AM
Jay Reiter Jay Reiter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 70
Default Re: Electrolysis Tank Upkeep

Greg when do you replace your solution? I have done about 10 skillets. The solution is quite black. I have to do quite a bit of scrapping. It may be just the carbonized layer but I think my solution is slowing down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Advertisement

- Website Directory -

This site is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn
advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com or its affiliates.
This page contains ads and links that earn commissions for CIC.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.