Indoor Lye Tank?

ChristieA

Hi everyone!
New here. Not new to CI though.
I AM new to collecting & cleaning larger batches.

So I am setting up my 1st Lye tank. Just as winter is setting in. After 15 pages & lots of reading....

Can a Lye tank set up safely be placed indoors? The Lye tub would ideally be stored in a relatively unused second bath, and stored closed in the bathtub.
I say relatively unused, because there is a cat litter pan in there, and currently where we set cardboard until we take it to the recycle. (Can't move the cat box, because it is there because the dogs do NOT have access to the Laundry Room & 2nd Bath)

I have seen a lot of apartment dwellers post about having Lye tanks.

Is there a strong odor with the tanks when you open them? Anything noticeable when they are closed? The container I bought has a locking lid.

I have been using my shed out back & oven cleaner. But, getting cold enough and I am getting enough pieces that oven cleaner is a PIA. *(not expensive though, I find Lye Oven Cleaner at the Dollar Store for a buck a can)

Thanks for any help!
C

Last edited:
Even with the sturdiest, most tight-fitting container, I believe there may still be drawbacks. Removing items in process involves some drippy messiness. The odor while the container is open can be somewhat acrid, even when outside. Will there also be room for a rinse container? Also, even Jackson Galaxy may not know what scent the cats may pick up on and think about it, and if it might cause litter box avoidance in that location.

Warming the lye solution in an unheated environment is an option, but is not without its own challenges.