Electrolysis - Anode Bubbling?

Jim_M

I am fairly new to restoring cast iron, but I set up an electrolysis tank and successfully cleaned a number of pans. When I tried using it to clean a Favorite #3 pan I noticed something different. My sacrificial metal (anode) was bubbling instead of the pan. I let it run for a day. When I pulled the pan out it was ruined. It seemed to have pulled a layer of the metal off. Yes, the positive terminal was connected to the anode and the negative to the pan. I used the exact setup that successfully cleaned several pans. After this happened, I changed the solution and the anodes. The next pan I cleaned with it came out fine (pan bubbling). I just tried another pan and now the pan AND the anode are bubbling. I don’t want to ruin another pan. Is the anode (sacrificial piece) supposes to bubble? What might have gone wrong on the pan I ruined?

Thanks
Jim

A photo of your setup may be more helpful before making several in-the-dark guesses.

Sure. Washing Soda solution. Two large iron plates (connected together with red battery cable. Charger set as it is in photo.

Charger set to 12 volt, manual, 12 amp.

Thanks
Jim

Attachments

• 72399DE0-C608-49E2-AA6D-7EFE559790CC.jpg
    72399DE0-C608-49E2-AA6D-7EFE559790CC.jpg
    15.6 KB · Views: 45
  • C57129E0-F7B5-4413-BEC2-409D417B02E6.jpg
    C57129E0-F7B5-4413-BEC2-409D417B02E6.jpg
    12.3 KB · Views: 43
  • 5C2C114A-804C-47FD-AF76-BDE237B51D50.jpg
    5C2C114A-804C-47FD-AF76-BDE237B51D50.jpg
    13.8 KB · Views: 38
I'm no expert with cleaning cast iron this way but I have done 5 or 6 different pans. I use it to de-rust tools. My setup is two pieces of number 4 rebar in opposite corners and I use a 12 volt 6 amp power supply (because that's what I have) for most things but I have used my 12 volt, 10 amp, 35 year old battery charger. Everything fizzes in my tank which is a 14 gallon trash can. I see no difference between 10 amps and 6 amps.