Recent diagnosis: Castironitis-terminal

Mike_S

Hey folks! Glad I found this site! I'm not new to cast iron (been using them for years, had to convert my wife away from Teflon demon) but I was recently infected with castironitis while camping. A new friend (as in 2 days new) I met at a Christian retreat gave me a dutch oven, lid lifter, tongs, and a charcoal chimney, taught me to cook a couple of things, and I'm hooked.

My interest lies mainly in cooking so I was absolutely delighted to learn than old unmarked cast iron can be of better quality than the best stuff being made today.

I'm a bit of salvage/restoration hobbyist. Any hints or tricks of the trade for getting better results when putting cast iron cookware in the old electrolysis tank?

I think my motto will be: Buy it cheap, clean it up, cook for life!

I recommend spending as much time as you can reading the Cast Iron Restoration section of this site. (www.castironcollector.com/restore.php) I have learned so much in the past few months from this site it is just amazing. I started by reading that section a couple of times and buying almost all the yard sale cast iron I could find. It was almost always under $8 but also needed cleaning. I set up a lye bath and an electrolysis tank per the instructions. It works great and i have bought, cleaned and restored over 50 pieces so far.

I need to start selling the stuff I do not intend to use but that isn't nearly as much fun as the searching and restoring.

Happy hunting

Jack

Thanks Jack! I'm thinking back to the cheap iron/bargains that I have passed on because of the things that I didn't know and kicking myself.