Martin Stove - What Am I Looking At?

SLundwall

I had a friend of mine give me this Martin Stove for an old 1880's log cabin I'm restoring. It's rusty and dirty but from what I can see, it is generally all there. I know I am missing a piece on the door to control air flow. So I have some questions.

1.) What am I looking at? I think it is from the early 1900's from the research I've done.

2.) I intend to use this on a exterior, covered dog trot deck area. Should I 'restore' this? Do I use it as is? I tried a bit of bead blasting as you can see from the cleaned area on the plate I experimented on. The numbers started showing up as BH-22-13 but it seemed they were degrading quick from the blasting so I stopped. So, do I restore it, clean it, use it as is?

3.) Can I find the missing part(s) somewhere? I need the mechanism on the door to control the air flow. Is this something I can replace? What else is missing?

Obviously, I'm new to this. I restore old motorcycles but this is my first stove. Any insight you give me would be great. Thanks.

Steve

I doubt you'll find the missing draft control, but it would be easy enough to make one with a bolt, nut, and a small piece of round plate steel. It looks like the part where the draft control was threaded is broken, but it looks like there's enough left to still make it work. You may also be missing the fire grate. (It's difficult to tell from the pictures if there's one or not.) Since this apparently isn't going to be a show piece, I'd go ahead and blast it and then use the stove black on it.

Not second guessing, is it a Martin? The stove would have a KSW King Stove and Range intertwined or a Martin signature at an angle?