Mourning in PA

JMEisenberger

Hello skillet-heads! I found this site recently while researching vintage skillets/fryers, after a terrible terrible tragedy occurred in my kitchen. My #8 nickle plated Griswold large block logo smooth bottom 777 fryer with matching 1048A high-dome lid died. It split right down the middle while cooking a steak on the stove top. I'm a broken man.
I want to say I'm a user, not a collector, but I've bought several pieces in the past month trying to replace my old friend. Nothing's worked.
I'm not a cook by trade, but I love good food and I do most all of the cooking in my home, from breakfast to Thanksgiving dinner. My first piece of cast iron was an unmarked (?) skillet belonging to my first wife, which had been her grandmother's. I think it was similar size to a #9. Over our 8 yrs together I loved it for steaks and porkchops. After our divorce I bought a modern Lodge 12" skillet, but the thing was/is a brute. Heavy, 80grit rough. Better off as an anchor. Then at a fleamarket I saw a shiney nickle deep skillet with a lid. It had impressive lettering all over it, a truly glass-smooth interior (hard to see any utensil marks even), and a $30 price tag. I had no idea who Griswold was but I gave the man a $20 and it was all mine. The 50lb Lodge went to the garage where it collected nuts and bolts for a living.
This was about 7 years ago, and I have cooked on that 777 every day since,.... well, until... :( I called it the Magic Pan because everything that came out of it was perfectly cooked and delicious. Did I mention that I'm NOT a pro. cook? Well the last time I used it I was cooking a steak in it, over med heat (I have used it on med-hi to blacken and seer hundreds of steaks/chops/fish/critters over the years) and there was a huge shatter sound, like throwing a toilet out a window onto the sidewalk (which I have recently done).

Dead Pan.