cleaning unused castiron

Steve Traudt

I have a few pieces of castiron that appear to have never been used. One still has the Griswold label attached to the bottom. They have light rust and some discoloration. What method do you recommend to clean these items. I have been using a lye bath and electrolysis to clean other pieces. I do not want to submerge these....

Thanks Hilditch...I will give it a try, but. They are shiny. If I season them, will they not turn dark, aka black?

---------- Post added at 02:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:27 PM ----------

Is the intent to preserve the labels, and not use them?
I do not plan to use them....just save for my family to determine what to do with 400 pieces of cast iron....

I'm no expert here, but couldn't you wash them (as stated above) and then coat them with a very light coat of mineral oil to prevent future rusting?

While you may want to leave the one with the label as it is, to preserve the label, my question would be why don't you want to clean the others at least with electro? If unused there should only be rust to contend with, and submerging shouldn't hurt anything. Or vinegar and a S/S scrubber. Mineral oil to keep rust from returning would be the next step if you don't intend to use.

Doug...thank you. Now what do I do with all this cast iron.

---------- Post added at 03:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:29 PM ----------

Thanks ....sounds like a good solution..i'll try it....

Doug...thank you. Now what do I do with all this cast iron....

No solid suggestions about what to do with your collection...IMHO, 400 pieces is a LOT. I would suggest, though, that you do SOMETHING to not curse your family with that decision, if you're approaching end of life situation. Museum, sales, ebay, whatever. If your family isn't interested, that much CI could end up at the scrap yard.