Crispy fish?

JeffreyL

I am a cast iron newbie. I have been cooking in them sorta limited for the last year. I'm the fish fryer in the house as my wife cannot cook it. I have always rinsed the filets, drained them and left them damp, dredged them through whatever cornmeal mix I'm using at the time, then into the hot pan with veg oil in it. Using a teflon pan I can generally get crispy filets, using cast iron I cannot seem too. I have tried using an unmarked made in USA Wagner #8, and a new lodge 12" that had one seasoning cycle in the oven. My filets don't stick much but I do get a little sticking of the coating which turns into a sort of gummy texture on the pan, and the filets aren't crispy, they taste great, just not crispy. I have had the same results with both pans so I figure it's me, not the pans. The pans always clean up pretty easy with just a lodge scraper, some warm water and a maybe a soft scrubby. I have tried hot iron cold oil, and cold oil cold skillet methods and both yield same results. I have also tried a smidge under medium heat, medium heat, and a little bit over medium. What gives, how do I get crispy fish without going back to teflon?

Without more info my guess is your oil isn't hot enough. CI takes longer to get up to temp than Teflon coated ano aluminum.

You want your oil at about 365 degrees for this.

I can only tell you the way I do it. I do not know what hot skillet, cold oil or cold skillet, cold oil methods are.

After dredging the fish in a mix of half cornmeal half flour seasoned with S&P, I let them rest a few minutes before frying to allow the dredge to stick better. I also do this with pork chops or chicken. Almost all fish I fry is deep fried, but whether it is or isn't, I make sure the oil is hot before I start frying. Generally around 350-375. If you drop just a pinch of your dredge in the oil, it should begin to immediately fry/sizzle.