Favorite markings question ?

Henner

Hi, I just got this Favorite Piqua ware #9. I would like to know what the G inside the diamond on the handle means ? I hope my pictures come through. I am new at this.

Attachments

• pan1.jpg
    pan1.jpg
    92.6 KB · Views: 145
  • pan2.jpg
    pan2.jpg
    57.7 KB · Views: 118
Certainly an unusual piece. I don't think I've seen a regular skillet with any version Favorite trademark with an inset heat ring, other than a smiley logo #14. Size numbers on the bottom inside a diamond are thought to be Favorite or Chicago Hardware Foundry, but I've not seen a raised top-of-handle marking like this. The indistinct lettering on the bottom makes me think someone may have used a Favorite skillet for a pattern and modified it in ways atypical of Favorite. This isn't a shallow skillet by chance?

Hi Doug, Thank you for your response. The pan is 2 1/4 inches from the inside bottom to the top. Please excuse me if I am not using the right terminology. I am just beginning collecting & using. The IQA & AR are very faint in Piqua Ware.
Thanks again Jim

I'd classify that as a regular skillet. It has what appears to be a distinctive reinforced lip, a distinctive handle reinforcement pad, and markings all consistent with an early Favorite. The heat ring is the oddball part. What is the cooking surface like? Polished?

I did the electrolysis cleaning on it. This was my first ever cleaning & seasoning attempt.
Didn't turn out well at all. I think it might be the fat I used. Or my lack of know how. My wife wont let me use her oven so I have to use the BBQ. I don't see any cracks but it does wobble a little.

Attachments

• pan3.jpg
    pan3.jpg
    83.7 KB · Views: 112
The casting artifacts I see on the rim tend to reinforce my initial assumption. Usually "re-casts" are seen with bottom gate marks, since the more advanced side gating is more difficult using just a pan as a pattern. Appears whoever made this one had some skills.