Prices, my goodness!

ErichL

Hi folks,

New to the cast iron scene, even though I've been cooking with cast iron for many years.

I've been through sets of Calphalon, All Clad, and other sets of pans through the years, but I always come back to my good old cast iron pans passed down to me by my grandmother. Now, that's all I use. Well, them and some enameled cast iron dutch ovens.

Recently, I've taken an interest in vintage cast iron. I live in Scottsdale, AZ and a store in Payson, AZ had a corner full of old cast iron. I found a Favorite Piqua with a smiley face that is just fantastic. It is so much lighter than my new Lodge, and even lighter than my grandma's pans!

I paid $40 bucks for it, took it home and cleaned/seasoned it and I love it.

I began researching in earnest. This site as well as others, and I began searching for cast iron online.

I also began to visit other antique and thrift stores in northern AZ. What I found was it is slim pickings folks!! I mean, wow, cast iron must be very popular in Arizona because good collectables are as rare as hens teeth! Where on earth do AZ people find collectable cast iron?

So, I began looking online. I'm not averse to spending money on quality things. But holy smokes..... The prices of cleaned and seasoned collectable cast iron is just breathtaking!

Prices ranging from $100 to $400 for individual pieces are common! Yikes! When did these prices spike? I've seen pans on posts from just a few years ago bought for a fraction of these prices, so I wonder, did cast iron suddenly become really popular?

The shortage of locally available iron may be directly related to local people running online "boutique" iron shops where they price single pieces at $400.
If you check auction sites like ebay.com, you will find the prices, though somewhat high, are much more realistic. And with a little patience you can get good quality pans in the $30 to $80 range; Cheaper than your All Clad.