Lye Bath Precautions

Rob_W

So I'm new to using a lye bath and a little concerned with handling the chemicals. I used the recommended concentration of 1lb per 5 gallons. If I get this on my skin will it burn or is it more of an irritant? Am I being a big baby?

Thanks!

So I'm new to using a lye bath and a little concerned with handling the chemicals. I used the recommended concentration of 1lb per 5 gallons. If I get this on my skin will it burn or is it more of an irritant? Am I being a big baby?

Thanks!
Lye loves oils. It likes to turn oils into soap. Including the oils of your skin. It will burn. Rubber gloves and face shield are highly recommended. A bucket of vinegar-laced water nearby isn't a bad precaution as well.

To give a more realistic perspective, let's assume you're never going to plunge your arm into your recommended strength lye solution and just leave it there. Let's say you have a momentary lapse of diligence and reach into the bath to retrieve the sunglasses that just fell out of your shirt pocket. If you immediately rinse your hand and arm in fresh water, you will probably feel no ill effects other than a mildly dry sensation to your skin. If you piddle around for a minute or so and don't rinse off your hand, your skin may begin to feel itchy, more dry, and become somewhat reddened like a mild sunburn. If you don't rinse it off after that, well... A vinegar solution is not necessary to neutralize the recommended strength solution to a point it is no longer caustic; dilution with adequate water is sufficient.

Nothing in the foregoing should be taken to suggest that lye, especially undiluted or at a dilution stronger than recommended for CI cleaning, is not dangerous and should not be handled with utmost care and certainly not without eye protection.