Cast Iron Collector Forums  
Google

Go Back   Cast Iron Collector Forums > General Discussion > Cast Iron Cleaning and Seasoning

Notices

Cast Iron Cleaning and Seasoning Help With and Tips & Techniques For Cast Iron Cookware Restoration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2016, 03:01 PM
JMoss JMoss is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kemah,TX
Posts: 854
Default too many amps?

I have been using electrolysis for quite some time now and I recently added two more electrodes for better coverage. Ever since my 2 amp manual charger has been registering 10-12 amps. It does seem to be cleaning better but is this good for the equipment and the pans? Can you have too much amperage running through your etank?

Jack
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-13-2016, 06:22 PM
MDFraley MDFraley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 945
Default Re: too many amps?

Jack,
I see no concern other than the cables will become hotter with the higher amperage. I routinely run my charger at 40 amps but I also have heavy duty cables that will allow that amperage safely. The solution will also run a bit higher but there again no concern.
Good luck and charge away......
MD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2016, 06:51 PM
KevinE KevinE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 795
Default Re: too many amps?

Won't hurt the pans, but I wouldn't place bets on how long a 2 amp charger lasts running 10-12 amps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2016, 07:19 PM
MDFraley MDFraley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 945
Default Re: too many amps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinE View Post
Won't hurt the pans, but I wouldn't place bets on how long a 2 amp charger lasts running 10-12 amps.
Good point Kevin....He may have a charger that has a selection switch as mine does but I am not sure. I have an older Sears unit that has a built in cooling fan that runs regardless of what amperage is set. You may want to consider a small cooling fan pointed at that charger Jack just to keep it cool.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2016, 08:39 PM
JMoss JMoss is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kemah,TX
Posts: 854
Default Re: too many amps?

Thanks guys. Mine is a Sears manual charger that can switch between 2 and 10 amps and yes the clamps get pretty warm. I don't know how to slow it down other than removing some electrodes. Would watering down the soap solution reduce the amps passing through?

Jack
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2016, 08:42 PM
KevinE KevinE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 795
Default Re: too many amps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMoss View Post
Would watering down the soap solution reduce the amps passing through?

Jack
Yep! That'll work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-14-2016, 01:33 PM
JMoss JMoss is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kemah,TX
Posts: 854
Default Re: too many amps?

Thanks Kevin,
I'll try that

Jack
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2016, 03:28 PM
Jeffrey R. Jeffrey R. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NEK, Vermont
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: too many amps?

Keep in mind that line of sight and to close are not the same. You would not want to burn a hole in the piece that you are trying to clean.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2016, 03:53 PM
JMoss JMoss is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kemah,TX
Posts: 854
Default Re: too many amps?

Jeffery,
Can that really happen?

I diluted the soap solution and now I'm down to about 4 amps. The clamps are still very warm.

Jack
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2016, 04:24 PM
Jeffrey R. Jeffrey R. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NEK, Vermont
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: too many amps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMoss View Post
Jeffery,
Can that really happen?

I diluted the soap solution and now I'm down to about 4 amps. The clamps are still very warm.

Jack
I am using Lye, but yes it will happen. Not touching but to close. But I have also pushed my amps a bit at times.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amperage, electrolysis

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Advertisement

This site is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn
advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com or its affiliates.
This page contains ads and links that earn commissions for CIC.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.