Newbie's ebay adventures...

Mike F

Hi – I am new to this hobby and website. Although I have purchased several pieces via ebay over the past month, I am wondering whether the prices that I have been paying are what I should be paying or not. What started me thinking about this was a post that I wrote earlier today where I mentioned that I paid what I thought was a reasonable price for a waffle iron.

After posting I thought a little more about what I had written. Did I know enough to be able to say that what I paid was reasonable?

To this end, and to help others in my situation (new and wondering what a fair price would be for CI pieces), I will provide below the list of pieces that I have purchased. All have been purchased within the past 30 days.

I realize that fair market price = what a buyer and seller agree the price to be at a point in time, and I have no regrets, but I would like to submit this list to the more senior members on this site for feedback. I am doing this so that I can learn of any pieces that I have overpaid for (which will help me make future decisions), and so that others in my position can have access to one more data point to use when they are considering pulling the trigger on a piece.

Comments from all, either negative or positive, are encouraged. The prices that I list below include shipping. I have included them because shipping prices vary greatly (due to sellers including a handling charge), and I have noticed that the ACTUAL shipping costs are between $10 and $20 depending on size, etc.

Here is the list:

1. Wagner no 8 skillet (Sydney –o- logo at top – slight wobble) -- $40.50 shipped
2. Wagner no 6 skillet (Sydney –o- logo at top – sits flat) -- $36.67 shipped
3. Wagner no 10 skillet (Sydney –o- logo at top – slight wobble) -- $45.50 shipped
4. Wagner no 3 skillet (Sydney –o- logo at top – sits flat) -- $17.94 shipped
5. Griswold skillet griddle no 202 (small cross logo -- slight wobble) -- $75.00 shipped