New member, new purchases: q's about cooking in old Wagner

Deb_C

Hi, all! I'm relatively new to collecting cast iron, but have had an interest in it for years now. I had heard so many extolling the virtues of cast iron (many "facts" which I've learned are not necessarily true), so I started with what I could easily get my hands on - modern Lodge - which I liked, but never loved. Then, on a trip to North Carolina, I stepped into a huge consignment store and found an old unmarked Lodge and a Wagner Sidney -O- that shoved me right over the edge of "interest" and into complete obsession. That Wagner has turned into a pan that I use almost daily, and couldn't imagine my life without. Dramatic? Yes, but what can I say? I love a good piece of cookware.

Fast forward to this last week. I graduated from nursing school on Saturday and decided to finally invest in some pans now that I'll actually have time to cook real meals instead of eating canned chicken salad from the dollar store and reheating take-out (in my Wagner). To ease my guilt about spending so much money, I called them 'graduation presents' and reminded myself that I deserve them. :tongue: I do love a good flea market/antique hunt, but here in Northern California, it's been nearly impossible to find anything outside of an antique store, and they've all been priced at or above what's available on ebay with far less selection.

Anyhow, I should have a #8 Victor and #12 early "Wagner" arriving before the end of the month. As I understand it, some of the earlier pans were made thinner and lighter than those that followed, but since I don't know if older Wagner and Victor are considered "thin," I don't know if there are any precautions I should take when using them.